Diary

 Ready for an audience - we’ll keep you updated on how Victoria and the others are doing.

Blossoming!

DSC_0858_Victoriablüte© Chr. Hillmann-Huber, Botanischer Garten und Botanisches Museum Berlin

Right on time for the grand re-opening weekend the ‘Queen’ did us the honour of opening up her petals at 5pm already! In the evening light and the drizzle of millions of small drops of water it was a majestic view indeed … And there are a few more buds halfway up already – so we have good blossoming prospects for the Victoria Nights (Between June and August the whole Garden, all the greenhouses and the Museum are open until midnight)!

First Victoria-buds to be seen!

04_2018

While the month of May is spiraling to new temperature records, inside the greenhouses a magical growth spurt is taking place: With amazing speed Victoria and her friends are transforming the Victoria House into a tropical green water-world! This week’s highlight: The first Victoria-buds show up – it’s Victoria cruziana giving blossoming prospects for the re-opening in June!

We celebrate the “Queen”: Date of opening is set!

20_04_1

The Victoria seedlings have been successfully cultivated in our 75 000 liter basin and both of the giant water lily species (Victoria amazonica and Victoria cruziana) are thriving, already with many floating leaves! Since we have such good prospects, the date for the re-opening is set: On the weekend of the 16th and 17th June 2018 we’ll celebrate with all guests and offer a reduced entrance fee of only 1 Euro per person -  this includes entrance to the garden, the museum and all greenhouses! And there will be even more to come: Victorianights & Victoriatalks, Summer Concerts on the Open-Air Terrace next to the Victoria House and a special photo-exhibition in the Botanical Museum.
 

Interested in the program?

A little seedling’s big moment!

08_03_1

On 8 March the Victoria seedlings were set in their 75,000 litre pool (here held by Curator Dr. Nils Köster) by our planting team who were suitably kitted out in waders. Now we’re keeping our fingers crossed that they all grow fast and thrive! Around the edge of the pool were some curious onlookers, among them Nelumbo and Strophocactus wittii – the cactus apparently tried to sneak a peek during the night, but since it only blooms for a single night the flower was already closed again by the morning…

My Home: – 260 m², flooded with light & 75,000 l – swimming pool on the top deck!

victoriahaus-innen

Stepping over the threshold will take you right into the tropics – with 85% humidity and a temperature constantly above 30 degrees! The Victoria House is more than 100 years old and one of the most fascinating greenhouses of the Botanic Garden Berlin – showcasing hundreds of exotic tropical water and marsh plants from this June on. Queen among them is Victoria, the amazing giant waterlily from South America.

My Leaf – First class floating

05_03_2

Victoria’s leaves aren’t just stunning in their looks – they also hold some records in the plant world: The floating leaves can reach two meters across and can carry more than 50 kilos without sinking. Like an inflatable mattress, air-filled compartments on the underneath provide the buoyancy. Who wouldn’t want to take a seat?

My family: Each more beautiful than the other!

05_03_1

Our team cultivates both species - Victoria amazonica and Victoria cruziana. Within a few months, they grow from tiny seeds into truly spectacular plants with huge floating leaves. Just as enchanting are the other water lilies - such as Nymphaea gigantea, the blue-blooded water lily from Australia and New Guinea that you’ll see swimming along with Victoria.

Blog

Victoria schwimmt wieder! Wir zeigen wie es der Queen der Seerosen und ihrer Verwandtschaft geht...

Sie blüht!

DSC_0858_Victoriablüte© Chr. Hillmann-Huber, Botanischer Garten und Botanisches Museum Berlin

Pünktlich zum Eröffnungswochenende gab sich die "Queen" die Ehre und öffnete bereits um 17 Uhr eine Blüte! Bei Abendlicht und im Sprühnebel ein wahrlich majestätischer Anblick... Und es sind viele weitere Knospen auf dem Weg an die Wasseroberfläche - gute Chancen für weitere magische Blütenblicke bei den Victorianächten (Juni-August sind samstags Garten, alle Gewächshäuser und das Museum bis Mitternacht geöffnet)!

Die ersten Victoria-Knospen sind da!

04_2018

Während draußen die Maitemperaturen Höchstmarken erreichen, geben drinnen Lotos, Victoria und die anderen exotischen Bewohner alles und verwandeln das Victoriahaus mit beeindruckender Wachstumsgeschwindigkeit! Und tatsächlich: Die ersten Victoria cruziana -Knospen sind da –beste Aussichten für die Eröffnung!   

Wir feiern die „Queen“: Victoria-Eröffnungstermin steht fest

20_04_1

Die Auspflanzung der Victoria-Keimlinge in das 75.000-Liter-Becken und die Anzucht waren erfolgreich: Beide Arten der Riesenseerose gedeihen prächtig und zeigen bereits mehrere kleine (aktuell 30 cm große) Schwimmblätter. Bei diesen guten Aussichten konnte der Termin für die Wiedereröffnung festgelegt werden: Am großen Eröffnungs-Wochenende am 16. + 17. Juni 2018 gilt für alle Gäste im Botanischen Garten, in den Gewächshäusern und im Botanischen Museum einmalig der „1-Euro-Victoriatarif“. Und auch in den Folgemonaten feiern wir weiter - unter anderem mit Victorianächten & Victoriatalks, Sommerkonzerten und Hörspielkino auf der Terrasse am Victoriahaus und einem Victoria Kabinett im Botanischen Museum. Ein Blick auf das Programm werfen?

Der große Moment eines kleinen Keimlings!

08_03_1

Am 8. März wurden die Victoria-Keimlinge (hier in den Händen von Dr. Nils Köster, Kustos) in das 75.000 Liter-Becken ausgepflanzt – unser Pflanzteam schlüpfte dazu in passende Kleidung, die so genannte „Wathose“. Jetzt heißt es Daumen drücken, dass alle Keimlinge schnell wachsen und gedeihen! Am Rand des Beckens fanden sich ein paar neugierige Zaungäste: Unter anderem Lotos und der Kaktus Strophocactus wittii. Letzterer wollte anscheinend schon mal einen Blick riskieren - da er jedoch nur nachts blüht, war seine Blüte morgens leider schon wieder geschlossen....

Mein Haus: Lichtdurchflutete 260 m² mit 75.000 l - Swimmingpool im Oberdeck!

victoriahaus-innen

Wer hier eintritt, der ist bei 30 Grad und wabernder Luftfeuchtigkeit von 85% mit einem Schlag in den Tropen! Das über 100 Jahre alte Victoriahaus ist eines der faszinierendsten Schaugewächshäuser des Berliner Botanischen Gartens – es zeigt ab Juni wieder hunderte seltene tropische und subtropische Sumpf- und Wasserpflanzen. Unter ihnen auch die tropische Riesenseerose Victoria aus Südamerika.

Mein Blatt: Schwimmende Premiumklasse!

05_03_2

Das Blatt der Victoria ist nicht nur wunderschön, es kann auch mit Superlativen aufwarten: Bis zu zwei Meter werden die Schwimmblätter groß und sie können mehr als 50 Kilogramm tragen, ohne unterzugehen! Für die Hubkraft sorgen mit Luft gefüllte Kammern zwischen den Rippen und Lamellen auf der Unterseite des Blattes. Wer möchte da nicht mal Platz nehmen?

Meine Familie: Eine schöner als die andere!

05_03_1

Unser Team kultiviert beide Arten der Victoria: Victoria amazonica und Victoria cruziana. Sie wachsen in wenigen Monaten von einem erbsengroßen Samen zu spektakulären und riesigen Schwimmblattpflanzen heran. Nicht weniger bezaubernd sind auch die weiteren Seerosengewächse, wie Nymphaea gigantea, die blaublütige Seerose aus Australien und Neuguinea, die sich mit Victoria das Wasser teilt.